The changes were saved.
Your Basket

Your basket is currently empty.

Total: {{cartTotal}}

The Home of Golf

Welcome to the Home of Golf. Watch live, share your memories or take a look behind the scenes here at the world’s most famous Links.

Back to News

Old Course to host Women’s Open in 2024

August 19 2020

The world’s most famous Links, the Old Course, will host the AIG Women’s Open in 2024.

Ahead of this week’s Women’s Open at Royal Troon, the R&A have confirmed future venues for the next five years, including the Home of Golf in 2024.

Martin Slumbers, Chief Executive of The R&A, said, “With our partners at AIG, we have a real ambition to grow and elevate the AIG Women’s Open for the benefit of the world’s leading golfers and so we are excited to confirm our intention to play the next five championships at these renowned courses. 

“It has truly been a collaborative effort from all the venues involved to make this schedule possible and the flexibility that they have shown in adjusting their own calendars has been vital in allowing us to confirm our plans for the championship through to 2025. 

“We are grateful for their support, particularly during a time when golf has been impacted by the on-going pandemic, and we look forward to working with these venues to deliver an outstanding experience to be enjoyed by everyone involved in the AIG Women’s Open.”

Euan Loudon, Chief Executive, St Andrews Links Trust, said, “We are delighted that the AIG Women’s Open will return to our calendar of prestigious events at the Home of Golf. Since first hosting the Championship in 2007 it has produced hugely entertaining, memorable weeks and worthy champions to join the Old Course’s illustrious honour roll. We look forward to welcoming the world’s greatest golfers to our famous Links in 2024.”

Peter Zaffino, President and Global Chief Operating Officer, AIG, commented, “We proudly welcome the involvement of these venerable courses, which will be fitting hosts for these accomplished golfers as they compete at the highest level.”

The future championship venues for the AIG Women’s Open are:
•    2021 – Carnoustie 
•    2022 – Muirfield 
•    2023 – Walton Heath
•    2024 – St Andrews 
•    2025 – Royal Porthcawl

Muirfield, Walton Heath and Royal Porthcawl will be hosting the women’s major championship for the first time. 

Muirfield has a prestigious history of hosting major championships, having held The Open on 16 occasions. It also hosted The Curtis Cup in 1952 and 1984 as well as the Vagliano Trophy in 1963 and 1975.

Walton Health has been a venue for the Ryder Cup, the Senior Open presented by Rolex and the British Masters.

Royal Porthcawl has held The Amateur Championship on seven occasions and was the venue for the Walker Cup in 1995 when Great Britain and Ireland defeated a United States of America team featuring Tiger Woods. It has also hosted the Senior Open presented by Rolex, the Curtis Cup and the British Masters.  

The Old Course at St Andrews will stage the championship for the third time after Lorena Ochoa and Stacy Lewis won the title over the world famous links in 2007 and 2013. 

Back to News

 Accessibility Help