St Andrews Links Trophy 2014

Scot lifts 2014 Links Trophy after thrilling final day

Scotland’s top-ranked amateur Grant Forrest eagled and birdied the 18th on the Old Course and then holed a 25ft birdie putt on the first play-off hole to lift the 2014 St Andrews Links Trophy, in association with Allianz.

The 20-year-old from the Craigielaw club in East Lothian holed a 25-foot birdie putt from outside Blairgowrie's Bradley Neil on the first green in extra-time to win the title, which features the European season’s best strokeplay field in amateur golf.

“Winning the Scottish Amateur was big for me, but I think because of the strength of the field here this has to be the best,” he said.

“I’ve only been back from the US for two weeks and I thought I would take a little more time to acclimatise, but It’s great to win back at home. Going down the 1st at the Old Course in a play-off is dreamland, it was surreal. I'm absolutely delighted.”

Previous Winners

Grant Forrest, 2014 St Andrews Links Trophy Champion

2014 Grant Forrest (play-off) Craigielaw 278
2013 Neil Raymond Corhampton 282
2012 Daan Huizing Netherlands 264
2011 Tom Lewis Welwyn Garden City 279
2010 Matthew Southgate Thorpe Hall 275
2009 Alan Dunbar Rathmore 285
2008 Keir McNicoll Carnoustie 283
2007 Llewellyn Matthews Southerndown 273
2006 Oliver Fisher West Essex 280
2005 Lloyd Saltman Craigielaw 275
2004 Jamie McLeary Leven 284
2003 Richard Finch Hull 276
2002 Simon Mackenzie West Linton 289
2001 Steven O'Hara Colville Park 281
2000 Matthew King Toft Hotel 140*
1999 David Patrick Mortonhall 152*
1998 Craig Watson East Renfrewshire 276
1997 Justin Rose North Hants 284
1996 Barclay Howard Cochrane Castle 282
1995 Graham Rankin Palacerigg 276
1994 Barclay Howard Cochrane Castle 294
1993 Garry Hay Downfield 280
1992 Craig Watson East Renfrewshire 281
1991 Ricky Willison Ealing 289
1990 Stuart Bouvier Australia 280
1989 Russell Claydon Gog Magog 284
  * Due to inclement weather, the 1999 and 2000 events were reduced to a 36-hole championship.